Buy A Shoe And Plant A Tree With Etnies

It’s hard to avoid August’s back-to-school blues. Even if your academic calendar is a thing of the past, summer days are numbered, and with a change in season comes a need for functional footwear that will carry you through a few seasons more. Etnies new Caprice Eco Sneakers make the transition from summer to school easy.

Made with recycled rubber outsoles, a hemp upper and lace closure, and a recycled nylon liner, these vegan kicks are part of etnies one-for-one program, called “Buy a Shoe, Plant a Tree,” wherein etnies aims to plant 100,000 trees in Brazil’s Sao Paulo Rainforest. But, wait, doesn’t this sound and look a lot like TOMS Shoes?

The Caprice Eco Sneakers are notable because they are wearable, sustainable, and affordable ($50, online at etnies.com). They are a great footwear staple, which is the selling point. But, one look at these kicks and it’s hard not to notice the similarity to the classic TOMS Shoes design. etnies’ shoes feature the signature wrapping most associated with TOMS.

A closer look at Etnies’ collection of green footwear will bring you to their Circe Eco shoe, which looks even more like a pair of TOMS. No mention of TOMS, but they don’t need to. etnies borrows TOMS one-for-one model, a philanthropic marketing tool, for a good cause: reforestation. But they take it a step too far with their design.

If you want to invest in a one-one-one initiative, take your pick: plant a tree with etnies or give a pair of shoes to a child in need with TOMS.

This entry was published on August 14, 2012 at 10:38 pm. It’s filed under Living, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Buy A Shoe And Plant A Tree With Etnies

  1. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  2. Thank you on said:

    I wish to show thanks to you just for rescuing me from this type of incident. Because of scouting throughout the world wide web and seeing concepts which were not powerful, I assumed my life was done. Being alive without the presence of approaches to the issues you’ve sorted out by indicates of this report is really a serious case, and the ones which may possibly have adversely affected my career if I hadn’t come across your weblog. Your personal skills and kindness in maneuvering the whole thing was important. I don’t know what I would have done if I had not come across such a thing like this. I can also now relish my future. Thanks so significantly for your specialized and results-oriented guide. I won’t hesitate to refer your internet page to any person who would require support about this subject matter.

  3. I was very pleased to uncover this great site. I want to to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every part of it and I have you book-marked to look at new stuff on your web site.

  4. Normally I don’t learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite nice article.

Leave a Reply

