Compact Fluorescent Light Bulbs May Be Damaging To Human Skin

We’ve all heard the stats: compared to incandescent bulbs Compact Fluorescent light bulbs (CFLs) use about one-quarter of the energy to produce the same amount of light and save about $30 or more in electricity costs over the lifetime of the bulb. These spiral light bulbs have become quite cost competitive with incandescent bulbs over the past few years, and so many people have switched.

CFLs aren’t without their drawbacks. As many have noted, they do contain a small amount of mercury, which makes them difficult to recycle and a health concern if they break. Now, a study from Stony Brook University has revealed that trace amounts of mercury might not be the only way CFLs put your health at risk.

The researchers were inspired by a recent European study [PDF] on individuals who claim exposure to CFLs aggravated their diseases, many of which were skin-related. To test whether or not the CFLs were actually capable of making people sick, scientists set up an experiment that exposed healthy human skin tissue to light from CFL bulbs purchased in regular stores across New York State.

Results revealed significant levels of UVC and UVA, which appeared to originate from cracks in the phosphor coatings, present in all CFL bulbs studied.

“Our study revealed that the response of healthy skin cells to UV emitted from CFL bulbs is consistent with damage from ultraviolet radiation,” said Miriam Rafailovich, professor of materials science and engineering at Stony Brook University. “Skin cell damage was further enhanced when low dosages of TiO2 nano particles (found in personal care products normally used for UV absorption) were introduced to the skin cells prior to exposure.” Rafailovich added that incandescent light of the same intensity had no effect on healthy skin cells, with or without the presence of TiO2.

Researchers said that this information shouldn’t stop people from using CFLs, but that they should be cautious about exposure. “Our research shows that it is best to avoid using them at close distances and that they are safest when placed behind an additional glass cover,” said Rafailovich. The study did not compare CFLs to LEDs, which were recently dubbed the most environmentally-friendly lighting source.

This entry was published on July 22, 2012 at 10:01 pm. It’s filed under Living, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

25 thoughts on “Compact Fluorescent Light Bulbs May Be Damaging To Human Skin

  1. I just want to tell you that I am new to weblog and certainly savored this web-site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You definitely have awesome well written articles. Appreciate it for sharing with us your webpage.

  2. I’ve recently started a site, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  3. As soon as I noticed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  4. I think you have noted some very interesting points , thankyou for the post.

  5. I like this site very much, Its a really nice situation to read and incur info .

  6. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own website now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

  7. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again!

  8. I think this is among the most significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  9. Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  10. I honestly loved reading your post. Thanks!A topic nearby to my crux cheers, do you have a RSS support ?

  11. Keep up the wonderful work , I read few blog posts on this web site and I believe that your web blog is real interesting and has lots of superb info .

  12. Wonderful news it is seriously. My teacher has been searching for this info.

  13. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

  14. That has been a great go through. I’d like to return again to your site for more good quality data.

  15. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Exceptionally useful information specifically the last part I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  16. Really fantastic information can be found on site.

  17. That has been a fantastic study. I would like to come back yet again aimed at your website for more top quality information.

  18. You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  19. hello, i came in to learn about this topic, thanks alot. will put this website into my bookmarks.

  20. so much very good info on here, : D.

  21. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again!

  22. Some genuinely nice and utilitarian info on this internet web site , likewise I believe the style and design contains superb attributes.

  23. I was looking through some of your blog posts on this internet site and I conceive this site is real informative! Keep putting up.

  24. This is 1 very interesting post. I like the way you write and I will bookmark your blog to my favorites.

  25. Hello! I’ve bookmarked your website because you have so great posts here and I would like to read some more^^

Leave a Reply

