Cubeast Sucks Pollution From The Air

According to the World Health Organization, air pollution in cities across the world causes about 2 million premature deaths every year. Between cars, factories, and chemical emissions, people in many countries must often avoid going outside because of thick, visible air pollution. And things aren’t much better indoors. Chemical based cleaners, fragrances, and paints mean indoor air can often be more polluted than what’s outside!

If this news makes you want to test your breath-holding skills, don’t panic: A group of architects, engineers and designers in Poland have been working on a solution that is both efficient and practical. The creative minds at andervision LLC have been working with TioCem, a cement with nano titanium dioxide, to create everyday products that can purify the air without using electricity or fragrances.

The smoke-hungry creature you see above is called Cubeast. He’s an ashtray made of an architectural photocatalytic concrete, a material made from very clean quartz powder, special nano cement TioCem, and other strong, recyclable ingredients. Because of its nano crystalline structure, it is a photocatalyst which decomposes air pollutants by photocatalysis, an accelerated oxidation process that already exists in nature.

During sunny weather , the air can be cleaned by photocatalysis up to 90 percent of aldehyd, nitrogen oxides, benzenes and chlorinated aromatic compounds. During bad weather, up to 70 percent of the pollutants are still eliminated and the process is permanent without consuming the photocatalyst.

The creative minds at andervision LLC have use their design and architectural knowledge to create practical objects, like candle holders and wine racks from this pollution-sucking material. Now, they’ve launched an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign to raise the $9,500 they need to produce these products commercially. For just $36, you could be the proud owner of your very own chunk of photocatalytic concrete!

This entry was published on July 18, 2012 at 6:25 pm. It’s filed under Living, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

23 thoughts on “Cubeast Sucks Pollution From The Air

  1. I just like the valuable information you supply in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and test once more here frequently. I’m rather certain I will learn a lot of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!

  2. I beloved as much as you’ll obtain carried out right here. The comic strip is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. however, you command get bought an shakiness over that you wish be turning in the following. in poor health certainly come more until now once more since precisely the same just about very frequently within case you defend this hike.

  3. i’m glad we have your blog as a help.http://www.divulgaemail.com

  4. I just want to mention I am all new to blogs and truly loved you’re web blog. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You absolutely come with really good well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your web-site.

  5. I think this internet site holds very good composed subject material posts.

  6. I was looking at some of your content on this site and I believe this web site is really informative! Continue posting.

  7. Very interesting details you have mentioned , regards for putting up. “Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome.” by Arthur Ashe.

  8. I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thank you for all the great content.

  9. Very great information can be found on web blog.

  10. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you actually recognize what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also consult with my site =). We can have a link exchange contract between us!

  11. Hello there, just became aware of your blog thru Google, and located that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful when you proceed this in future. Lots of people will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  12. I’m certainly delighted you actually put this up. Been awfully waiting for this. Thanks =)

  13. Very efficiently written information. It will be beneficial to everyone who utilizes it, as well as myself. Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

  14. I do not even understand how I stopped up here, however I thought this post was once good. I do not recognise who you are however certainly you are going to a famous blogger when you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  15. Nice post. I study something more challenging on totally different blogs everyday. It’ll at all times be stimulating to read content material from other writers and practice a little bit something from their store. I’d favor to use some with the content on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link in your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Very interesting points you have remarked, thanks for posting.

  17. Hey there, You have done a great job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web page.

  18. This is the proper weblog for anyone who wants to find out about this particular topic. You understand a lot its almost arduous to argue together with you (not that I actually would need… HaHa). You positively put a good quality rewrite on a topic thats been written about for a long time. Excellent stuff, simply excellent!

  19. fantastic submit, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should proceed your writing. I am confident, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  20. Thank you for your extremely great data and respond to you.

  21. This is all very new to me and this post really opened my eyes.Thanks for sharing with us your wisdom.

  22. After research a few of the blog posts in your website now, and I really like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and will probably be checking again soon. Pls check out my web page as nicely and let me know what you think.

  23. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is just cool and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

