Upcycle Your Broken Xbox 360 Into Nano-Reef Aquarium

These days, video game consoles are much more than devices that allow you to play the latest first-person shooter or role-playing game. Video game systems now come equipped with WiFi capabilities and sophisticated media streaming technology. In fact, thanks to services like Hulu and Netflix, all you need is a monitor and a console, and you can ditch the cable company altogether.

All these extra capabilities mean that video game systems spend a lot more time in the ‘on’ position. In addition to sucking up extra energy, it also means that these delicate electronics are more likely to burn out within a few years of purchase. All complaints about built-in obsolescence aside, the mind boggles to think about how many gaming systems must end up in the landfill every year. Troubled by the idea that its plastic components would take thousands of years to degrade, designer Spencer Shepard decided to upcycle a broken Xbox 360 into something equally as entertaining: a fully-functional saltwater aquarium.

Once all of the internals were removed, the tank was built to fill as much of the console as possible while still allowing room for filtration components. The viewing window in the console was cut perfectly by water jet. The tank itself is made of glass and is approximately 6″ long, 8″ tall, and 2.5″ wide. Water volume inside the tank is 0.45 gallons. The tank is lit with a color-changing (RGB) LED strip. Lighting color and intensity is controlled with a wireless remote.

The existing power cable and connection were reused and routed for the new system’s wiring required for the filtration process and the lighting. Even though the Xbox 360 aquarium is shorter and more narrow than most saltwater tanks, Shephard managed to fill it with a variety of colorful marine life, including live corals, fish, crabs, snails, and shrimp. Check out the video below to see it in action!

This entry was published on July 16, 2012 at 11:16 pm. It’s filed under Living, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

20 thoughts on “Upcycle Your Broken Xbox 360 Into Nano-Reef Aquarium

  1. I reckon something truly interesting about your website so I saved to fav.

  2. Only wanna state that this is very helpful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  3. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve take into accout your stuff previous to and you’re simply extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the best way by which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you. That is really a tremendous website.

  4. I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to weblog and truly savored this web site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You absolutely come with tremendous articles. Many thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  5. Precisely what I was seeking for, thankyou for putting up.

  6. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  7. I really like your writing style, superb information, regards for putting up :D. “Your central self is totally untouched By grief, confusion, desperation.” by Vernon Howard.

  8. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again! “One never goes so far as when one doesn’t know where one is going.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

  9. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I have really loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  10. I was looking through some of your articles on this website and I think this internet web page is really instructive! Retain posting .

  11. Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, thankyou . “Curiosity killed the cat, but for a while I was a suspect.” by Steven Wright.

  12. Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include approximately all important infos. I’d like to see more posts like this.

  13. I conceive you have mentioned some very interesting details , thankyou for the post.

  14. Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my website . Thanks =)

  15. I genuinely enjoy reading through on this internet site , it has got wonderful blog posts.

  16. Very nice pattern and wonderful content material , nothing else we need : D.

  17. I was reading some of your web articles on here and I find this internet site is real instructive! Keep putting up here. Many thanks.

  18. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my website thus i got right here to return the want?.I’m attempting to in finding things to enhance my website!I suppose its adequate to use a few of your ideas!!

  19. Thank you for sharing with us, I think this website truly stands out :D.

  20. Merely wanna remark which you have a quite nice internet site , I enjoy the layout it actually stands out.

Leave a Reply

