Apple Dumped EPEAT Instead Of Getting Dumped

It’s recently been announced that Apple has suddenly withdrawn all of its products from the EPEAT (Electronic Product Environmental Assessment Tool) registry and will no longer be submitting its products to the registry for environmental rating. For those who haven’t been following the story, EPEAT is a non-profit organization that assesses and certifies the overall impact of an electronic device throughout its entire life cycle. Although EPEAT began with a limited focus on computers, it has since expanded to include many other types of electronics.

Like many in the clean tech world, we found Apple’s decision to be confusing and while supporters claimed it had everything to do with design, we couldn’t help noting that it most likely had a lot more to do with profit. Now, the technology giant has responded to the criticism by basically saying  that because EPEAT wasn’t perfect, it wasn’t worth the effort. Apple spokesperson Kristin Huguet today released the following statement to The Loop:

“Apple takes a comprehensive approach to measuring our environmental impact and all of our products meet the strictest energy efficiency standards backed by the US government, Energy Star 5.2. We also lead the industry by reporting each product’s greenhouse gas emissions on our website, and Apple products are superior in other important environmental areas not measured by EPEAT, such as removal of toxic materials.”

So, yes, Apple products are efficient enough by the government’s standards. No, EPEAT does not yet include a measurement of greenhouse gas emissions created by single products, nor does it yet include certification for smart phones or tablets, which are arguably Apple’s bread and butter. Contrary to Huguet’s claims, EPEAT does in fact require the reduction and/or elimination of hazardous materials such as mercury and lead [PDF].

Personally, I find Apple’s statement to be a lackluster comeback. It sounds like justification and blame-shifting, rather than an admission that it made a design change to reduce cost. By gluing-in many of the components of its new computers, Apple products would have lost their gold status at EPEAT, so the company simply decided to dump the registry instead of getting dumped. No “green certification” system is infallible, but from a consumer’s standpoint, they have one important advantage: objectivity.

This entry was published on July 11, 2012 at 9:58 pm and is filed under News, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

20 thoughts on “Apple Dumped EPEAT Instead Of Getting Dumped

  1. I simply couldn¡¯t depart your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual supply in your guests? Is gonna be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  2. Real fantastic visual appeal on this website, I’d rate it 10.

  3. Very well written story. It will be helpful to anybody who utilizes it, as well as myself. Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  4. I just want to say I am new to blogging and site-building and truly savored your blog. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You surely come with amazing article content. Regards for sharing your blog.

  5. this is the first time i am hearing of this. thanks for the information.http://www.divulgaemail.com

  6. My brother recommended I would possibly like this blog. He was entirely right. This publish actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  7. I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of excellent info, saved to fav (:.

  8. I got what you intend, regards for posting .Woh I am happy to find this website through google. “The outcome of the war is in our hands the outcome of words is in the council.” by Homer.

  9. Real nice style and wonderful subject material , hardly anything else we require : D.

  10. Just wanna comment on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the subject matter is rattling good. “Good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment.” by Barry LePatner.

  11. You made a few good points there. I did a search on the issue and found a good number of folks will go along with with your blog.

  12. Definitely, what a magnificent site and informative posts, I definitely will bookmark your blog.All the Best!

  13. I simply want to mention I’m very new to weblog and definitely enjoyed you’re page. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You definitely come with really good stories. Appreciate it for revealing your webpage.

  14. I always was interested in this topic and stock still am, thankyou for posting .

  15. Hey There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is an extremely neatly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  16. I recently arrived across your write-up and have been examining along. I wish to express my admiration of your crafting skill and ability to make site visitors read from the commencing to the end. I would like to read newer posts and to write about my thoughts with you.

  17. I am glad that I discovered this internet site , exactly the right information that I was looking for! .

  18. I think you have observed some very interesting points , thankyou for the post.

  19. This is just what I was seeking! Have you thought to quickly considered to idolize you, however i travelled as a child in the haze with various other websites. Keep in mind that most effective remedies work most effectively.

  20. This is a really beneficial study for me, Must admit that you are amid the very most excellent bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

Leave a Reply

